Author Events

Christian Robinson

Christian Robinson. Photo by John Kwiatkowski.

AUTHOR TALK & BOOK SIGNING
Christian Robinson
Friday, October 18*
Ages 4-7
*School visit, public invited–please call for details.

Funny and sweet, told with lyrical text and bright, unexpected illustrations, Just in Case You Want to Fly, by the award-winning team of Julie Fogliano and Christian Robinson, is a celebration of heading off on new adventures–and of knowing your loved ones will always have your back when you need them. A joyful, inclusive cast of children fly, sing, and wish their way across the pages, with everything they could ever need–a cherry if you need a snack, and if you get itchy here’s a scratch on the back–to explore the world around them. Christian Robinson’s bold illustrations bring out the humor and warmth of the poetic text, teasing out new meanings and adding delightful details that will have you turning the pages again and again.

Available for signing:

  • Just in Case You Want to Fly $18.99
  • And more

Barney SaltzbergBARNEY SALTZBERG STORYTIME
Barney Saltzberg
Saturday, October 19, 10:30 a.m.
Ages 3-7

Join multitalented author and illustrator Barney Saltzberg for a reading of his delight new book, Dog and Rabbit, hilarious songs, and more. Dog and Rabbit is a funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator of Beautiful Oops! and Crazy Hair Day. Dog likes Rabbit. Rabbit likes Bunny. But Bunny ignores Rabbit. How will the friendship triangle resolve? Written in four parts, this picture book navigates the pitfalls of budding friendship and explores the rewards of patience.

Available for signing:

  • Dog and Rabbit $14.99
  • Beautiful Oops! $15.95
  • And more

Remy LaiAUTHOR TALK & BOOK SIGNING
Remy Lai
Friday, October 25*
Ages 9-13
*School visit, public invited–please call for details.

Pie in the Sky is a poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy’s immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Recipient of five starred reviews!

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he’s often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao. To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she’s at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they’ll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

Available for signing:

  • Pie in the Sky $21.99, $12.99p


Dav Pilkey

Photo by Kai Suzuki

DOG MAN DO GOOD TOUR
Dav Pilkey
Saturday, October 26, 1:00 p.m.
Ticketed Event: Tickets available on Brown Paper Tickets, in person at Children’s Book World (sorry, no phone orders) and at the event.*

Barnum Hall Theatre
600 Olympic Boulevard
Santa Monica, CA 90405
On the Campus of Santa Monica High School

  • A Meet and Greet with Dav Pilkey
  • A Presentation of his Inspiring Story with Live Drawing
  • A Signed Copy of Dog Man: For Whom The Ball Rolls
  • Photo Opportunities with Dog Man and Captain Underpants
  • Exclusive Giveaways, Fun Activities and More!

Dav Pilkey’s Do Good Tour will bring together kids, families, and educators, to highlight the many ways books inspire–and how each individual can help others and make a positive difference wherever they are. In addition to getting an opportunity to meet Dav Pilkey and hearing his inspiring story as a kid who struggled with ADHD and dyslexia, attendees at each family-friendly event will be treated to fun activities including photo opportunities with Dog Man and Captain Underpants costumed characters, signed books and giveaways, and more. Following a highly entertaining, uplifting presentation, Dav Pilkey will meet, greet, and take a photo with all ticket holders.

Event Guidelines:

  1. Each ticket includes a signed copy of Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls, to be given to you at the event. If you already have a copy of Dog Man 7, we will have donation boxes at the event and you can leave your extra copies for a foster children in need.
  2. Everyone attending needs a ticket (with the exception of lap-sitting children, 2 and under).
  3. We’ll have selections of Dav’s other books for sale at the event, and some other cool stuff. Due to time constraints, no memorabilia or books from home will be signed.
  4. There will be lots of fun give-aways, including a Reading Is Your Superpower Cape and other fun swag and some cool prizes.
  5. Tickets are nonrefundable.
  6. We are happy that Dav Pilkeys #DoGood event is popular and that children and parents are excited to be part of the event. Please beware of scammers and scalpers reselling tickets. We caution anyone purchasing from 3rd party sellers that they risk denial of admission to the event.

Do Good Opportunities:

  • Bring or buy a new book to donate to foster children through the Edelmans Childrens Court Shelter Care Program.
  • Bring brand new school appropriate kids t-shirts, sizes 5-14 (especially sizes 7 & 8) to be donated to underserved elementary-age school childrens in the LA Unified School District through Operation School Bell (OSB), a service of the Assistance League® of Los Angeles.

Andy GriffithsAUTHOR TALK & BOOK SIGNING
Andy Griffiths
Saturday, November 2, 3:30 p.m.
Ages 7-12

Join hilarious, very creative author Andy Griffiths for a celebration of the ninth book, The 117-Story Treehouse, in the extremely popular illustrated chapter book series. Andy and Terry live in a 117-story treehouse. It used to be a 104-story treehouse, but it just keeps growing! It now has a pajama-party room, a water-ski park filled with flesh-eating piranhas, an Underpants Museum, a giant-fighting-robot arena, and the Door of Doom (don’t open it or you’ll be COMPLETELY and UTTERLY DOOMED!). For as long as Andy and Terry have been writing books together, Andy has always been the narrator and Terry has always been the illustrator. But when Terry tries to prove that he can narrate as well as draw, the story goes completely out of control and the Story Police arrive to arrest the whole treehouse team for crimes against storytelling!

Available for signing:

  • The 117-Story Treehouse $13.99
  • And more

Andrea LoneyBOOK SIGNING & PHOTO PARTY
Andrea J. Loney
Saturday, November 9, 10:30 a.m.
Ages 4-8

Join Andrea J. Loney in celebration of the publication of her new picture book, Double Bass Blues, A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music! Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds–his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he’s jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle. There will be a book signing, music, snacks, and a Photo Fun station for taking pictures with friends and family.

Available for signing:

  • Double Bass Blues $17.99

Molly Ostertag

Molly Ostertag

Ella Steinkellner

Emma Steinkellner

AUTHOR TALK & BOOK SIGNING
Molly Ostertag & Emma Steinkellner
Saturday, November 16, 2:30 p.m.
Ages 8-14

Join Molly Ostertag, acclaimed author/illustrator of The Witch Boy graphic novel series, and Emma Steinkellner, author/illustrator of The Okay Witch, for a talk about their books and how they create a graphic novel: from their ideas and stories, to their art on the page. Molly Ostertag’s new graphic novel, The Midwinter Witch, is the thrilling conclusion to the epic adventures of Aster, the teen boy who seeks his destiny as a witch, and the acclaimed Witch Boy series. Emma Steinkellner is the author/illustrator of The Okay Witch. Sabrina the Teenage Witch meets Roller Girl in this hilarious, one-of-a-kind graphic novel about a half-witch who has just discovered the truth about herself, her family, and her town and is doing her best to survive middle school now that she knows everything!

Available for signing:

  • The Midwinter Witch $12.99p
  • The Okay Witch $12.99p

Drew DaywaltSTORYTIME & BOOK SIGNING
Drew Daywalt
Saturday, November 23, 10:30 a.m.
Ages 4-8

Join author Drew Daywalt, author of the bestselling The Day the Crayons Quit and much more, for a rollicking reading of some of his very funny books and an introduction to his latest offering, The Crayons’ Christmas! In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

Available for signing:

  • The Crayons’ Christmas $19.99


Shannon & Dean Hale

Shannon & Dean Hale

LeUyen Pham

LeUyen Pham

PRINCESS IN BLACK CELEBRATION
Shannon & Dean Hale & LeUyen Pham
Monday, December 2, 4:00 p.m.
Ages 4-8

Meet Shannon and Dean Hale and LeUyen Pham, the authors and illustrator of the extremely popular Princess in Black series! In the latest offering in the series, The Princess in Black and the Bathtime Battle, the Princess in Black is in a very stinky situation. A foul cloud is plaguing the goat pasture, and it smells worse than a pile of dirty diapers or a trash can on a hot summer day! Can five princess heroes and one Goat Avenger pool their talents to vanquish a monstrous stink? Fans with a nose for slapstick will be tickled to see the six stalwart friends join their wits to take on an impossibly beastly stink.

Available for signing:

  • The Princess in Black and the Bathtime Battle $14.99