Art/Architecture/Photography

Here are some of our favorite books on art and artists!
A Boy Named Isamu: A Story of Isamu Noguchi By James Yang Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593203446
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

Awarded an Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Picture Book Honor, this stunning picture book brings to life the imagination of Japanese American artist, Isamu Noguchi.

(Cover image may vary.)

If you are Isamu, stones are the most special of all.
How can they be so heavy?
Would they float if they had no weight?


Ablaze with Color: A Story of Painter Alma Thomas By Jeanne Walker Harvey, Loveis Wise (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jeanne Walker Harvey, Loveis Wise (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063021891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - February 22nd, 2022

Celebrate the life-changing power of art in this inspiring and stunningly illustrated picture book biography of American artist Alma Thomas.


Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott By Joyce Scott, Brie Spangler, Melissa Sweet, Melissa Sweet (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525648116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 8th, 2021

A moving and powerful introduction to the life and art of renowned artist, Judith Scott, as told by her twin sister, Joyce Scott and illustrated by Caldecott Honor artist, Melissa Sweet.


Sister Corita's Words and Shapes By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534496019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 19th, 2021

From acclaimed picture book creator Jeanette Winter comes the little-known story of Sister Corita, a nun, educator, and activist who became a celebrated pop artist while creating works meant to inspire good in others.

Known by some as the Pop Art Nun, Sister Corita gained acclaim for her bold, graphic pop art that calls for peace, equality, and justice.


The Ultimate Art Museum By Ferren Gipson Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781838663780
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Phaidon Press - September 29th, 2021

Visit the world's greatest museum without leaving your home through this imaginary art museum - a visually spectacular survey of world art for middle-grade reader, curated in collaboration with a global team of experts and educators

This imaginary art museum is an educational and inspiring experience without the constraints of space and time.


This Little Artist: An Art History Primer By Joan Holub, Daniel Roode (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joan Holub, Daniel Roode (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534442931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little Simon - September 10th, 2019

Learn all about artists who changed history in this engaging and colorful board book perfect for creators-in-training!

Painting, shaping, making art.
With creative joy, hands, and heart.

Little artists have great big imaginations.

In this follow up to This Little President, This Little Explorer, This Little Trailblazer, an


Women Artists A to Z By Melanie LaBarge, Caroline Corrigan (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593108727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Dial Books - February 11th, 2020

An empowering and educational alphabet picture book about women artists, perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z.


Degas, Painter of Ballerinas By The Metropolitan Museum of Art (Illustrator), Susan Goldman Rubin Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419728433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 16th, 2019

Through Edgar Degas’s beloved paintings, drawings, and sculptures, award-winning author Susan Goldman Rubin—in collaboration with The Metropolitan Museum of Art—conveys the wonder and excitement of the ballet world.


Henri's Scissors By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442464841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 27th, 2013

Step into the colorful world of Henri Matisse and his magnificent paper cutouts in this biography by acclaimed picture book creator Jeanette Winter.

In a small weaving town in France, a young boy named Henri-Emile Matisse drew pictures everywhere, and when he grew up, he moved to Paris and became a famous artist who created paintings that were adored around the world.


Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras By Duncan Tonatiuh Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419716478
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2015

Discover the story behind José Guadalupe Posada’s iconic Día de Muertos skeletons in this fascinating picture book from award-winning creator Duncan Tonatiuh.
 
A New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Book of the Year
A Robert F.


Kid Artists: True Tales of Childhood from Creative Legends (Kid Legends #3) By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator) Cover Image
By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781594748967
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Quirk Books - August 9th, 2016

Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations reveal how Leonardo da Vinci, Beatrix Potter, Keith Haring, and other great artists in history coped with regular-kid problems.


Art and How it Works: An Introduction to Art for Children By Ann Kay, Tomie dePaola (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Ann Kay, Tomie dePaola (Foreword by)
$17.99
Not available for order currently.
ISBN: 9781465468024
Published: DK Children - November 6th, 2018

This engaging introduction to art appreciation for kids explores art history, themes in art, and art techniques, from cave paintings to modern art.


Take a Picture of Me, James Van Der Zee! By Andrea J. Loney, Keith Mallett (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andrea J. Loney, Keith Mallett (Illustrator)
$20.95
ISBN: 9781620142608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Lee & Low Books - July 24th, 2017

NAACP Image Awards Nominee - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

A biography of James Van Der Zee, innovative and celebrated African American photographer of the Harlem Renaissance.


Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781947440005
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Getty Publications - March 6th, 2018

A Boston Globe–Horn Book Nonfiction Award Winner and a Moonbeam Children’s Book Gold Award Winner, Photographic is a picture book biography of Graciela Iturbide from author Isabel Quintero and illustrator Zeke Peña.
 
Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico City in 1942, the oldest of 13 children.


Secret Engineer: How Emily Roebling Built the Brooklyn Bridge By Rachel Dougherty, Rachel Dougherty (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250155320
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 19th, 2019

On a warm spring day in 1883, a woman rode across the Brooklyn Bridge with a rooster on her lap.

It was the first trip across an engineering marvel that had taken nearly fourteen years to construct. The woman's husband was the chief engineer, and he knew all about the dangerous new technique involved. The woman insisted she learn as well.


Zaha Hadid (Little People, BIG DREAMS) By Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara, Asun Amar (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781786037459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - October 1st, 2019

Part of the critically acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, Zaha Hadid tells the inspiring true story of the visionary Iraqi-British architect.

Zaha Hadid grew up in Baghdad, Iraq, surrounded by music. She was a curious and confident child, who designed her own modernist bedroom at nine years old.