Art/Architecture/Photography

Here are some of our favorite books on art and artists!

This Little Artist: An Art History Primer Cover Image
By Joan Holub, Daniel Roode (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534442931
Availability: Usually Ships in 3-7 Days - Not in stock but can be ordered.
Published: Little Simon - September 10th, 2019

Learn all about artists who changed history in this engaging and colorful board book perfect for creators-in-training!

Painting, shaping, making art.
With creative joy, hands, and heart.

Little artists have great big imaginations.

In this follow up to This Little President, This Little Explorer, This Little Trailblazer, an


Art This Way Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780714877211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Phaidon Press - November 18th, 2019

View artworks from the Whitney Museum's esteemed collection in a whole new way - an interactive invitation to explore and discover


Women Artists A to Z Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593108727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - February 11th, 2020

An empowering and educational alphabet picture book about women artists, perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z.


Degas, Painter of Ballerinas Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419728433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 16th, 2019

Through the Window: Views of Marc Chagall's Life and Art Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Mary GrandPre (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524717513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

A gorgeous, expressive picture-book biography of Marc Chagall by the Caldecott Honor team behind The Noisy Paint Box.

Through the window, the student sees . . .
His future--butcher, baker, blacksmith, but turns away.
A classmate sketching a face from a book. His mind blossoms.


Henri's Scissors Cover Image
By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442464841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 27th, 2013

Step into the colorful world of Henri Matisse and his magnificent paper cutouts in this biography by acclaimed picture book creator Jeanette Winter.

In a small weaving town in France, a young boy named Henri-Emile Matisse drew pictures everywhere, and when he grew up, he moved to Paris and became a famous artist who created paintings that were adored around the world.


Yves Klein Painted Everything Blue and Wasn't Sorry. Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781838660147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Phaidon Press - September 11th, 2019

A clever, quirky read-aloud biography of a leading modern artist, for kids


Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781419716478
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - August 25th, 2015

Portrait of an Artist: Frida Kahlo: Discover the Artist Behind the Masterpieces Cover Image
By Lucy Brownridge, Sandra Dieckmann (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781786036421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - September 3rd, 2019

A beautifully told art story for children, looking at Frida Kahlo's life through her masterpieces. Accompanied by stunning original illustrations from the award winning Sandra Dieckmann. 

â??â??â??â??â??


Portrait of an Artist: Vincent van Gogh: Discover the Artist Behind the Masterpieces Cover Image
By Lucy Brownridge, Edith Carron (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781786036469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - September 3rd, 2019

A beautifully told art story for children, looking at  Vincent van Gogh's life through his masterpieces. Accompanied by stunning original illustrations from Edith Carron. 

â??â??â??â??â??


My Big Book of the World's Greatest Art Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9783791373959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Prestel Junior - October 8th, 2019

From cave paintings to Banksy, this stylish, fun, and interactive book will teach kids about 10,000 years of art history.


Kid Artists: True Tales of Childhood from Creative Legends (Kid Legends #3) Cover Image
By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781594748967
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - August 9th, 2016

Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations reveal how Leonardo da Vinci, Beatrix Potter, Keith Haring, and other great artists in history coped with regular-kid problems.
 


A History of Pictures for Children: From Cave Paintings to Computer Drawings Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419732119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 2nd, 2018

Art and How it Works: An Introduction to Art for Children Cover Image
By Ann Kay, Tomie dePaola (Foreword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781465468024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DK Children - November 6th, 2018

This engaging introduction to art appreciation for kids explores art history, themes in art, and art techniques, from cave paintings to modern art.


Basher Science: Engineering: The Riveting World of Buildings and Machines Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780753473115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kingfisher - January 10th, 2017

How does a 3D printer work? What stops a skyscraper from falling over? Where does a smart phone store information?


The Zoom, Fly, Bolt, Blast STEAM Handbook: Build 18 Innovative Projects with Brain Power (Junior Engineer) Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781631596100
Availability: Usually Ships in 3-7 Days - Not in stock but can be ordered.
Published: Rockport Publishers - November 20th, 2018

For kids who like to make cool things, The Zoom, Fly, Bolt, Blast STEAM Handbook, features fun and easy, step-by-step projects to get young tinkerers making things they never thought possible!

Make an automaton, a pneumatic machine, a suspension bridge, a flexible hand, a crash-test car, even a (working) vacuum cleaner! The Zoom, Fly, Bolt


Built to Last Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780547342405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2010

This new book—inspired by three classic, award-winning books—reveals the how and why behind some of the most fascinating and enduring structures humankind has ever created.


Take a Picture of Me, James Van Der Zee! Cover Image
By Andrea J. Loney, Keith Mallett (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781620142608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lee & Low Books - July 24th, 2017

A biography of James Van Der Zee, innovative and celebrated African American photographer of the Harlem Renaissance.

James VanDerZee was just a young boy when he saved enough money to buy his first camera. He took photos of his family, classmates, and anyone who would sit still for a portrait. By the fifth grade, James was the school photographer and unofficial town photographer.


Go Photo! an Activity Book for Kids Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781597113557
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aperture - May 24th, 2016

Go Photo features 25 hands-on and creative activities inspired by photography. Aimed at children between eight and twelve years old, this playful and fun collection of projects encourages young readers to experiment with their imaginations, get messy with materials and engage with the world in new and exciting ways.


Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781947440005
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - March 6th, 2018

Secret Engineer: How Emily Roebling Built the Brooklyn Bridge Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250155320
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 19th, 2019

On a warm spring day in 1883, a woman rode across the Brooklyn Bridge with a rooster on her lap.

It was the first trip across an engineering marvel that had taken nearly fourteen years to construct. The woman's husband was the chief engineer, and he knew all about the dangerous new technique involved. The woman insisted she learn as well.


Zaha Hadid (Little People, BIG DREAMS #31) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781786037459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - October 1st, 2019

Part of the critically acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, Zaha Hadid tells the inspiring true story of the visionary Iraqi-British architect.

Zaha Hadid grew up in Baghdad, Iraq, surrounded by music. She was a curious and confident child, who designed her own modernist bedroom at nine years old.