Art/Architecture/Photography

Here are some of our favorite books on art and artists!
A Boy Named Isamu: A Story of Isamu Noguchi Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593203446
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

Awarded an Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Picture Book Honor, this stunning picture book brings to life the imagination of Japanese American artist, Isamu Noguchi.

(Cover image may vary.)

If you are Isamu, stones are the most special of all.
How can they be so heavy?
Would they float if they had no weight?


Ablaze with Color: A Story of Painter Alma Thomas Cover Image
By Jeanne Walker Harvey, Loveis Wise (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063021891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - February 22nd, 2022

Celebrate the life-changing power of art in this inspiring and stunningly illustrated picture book biography of American artist Alma Thomas.


Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525648116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 8th, 2021

A moving and powerful introduction to the life and art of renowned artist, Judith Scott, as told by her twin sister, Joyce Scott and illustrated by Caldecott Honor artist, Melissa Sweet.


Sister Corita's Words and Shapes Cover Image
By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534496019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 19th, 2021

From acclaimed picture book creator Jeanette Winter comes the little-known story of Sister Corita, a nun, educator, and activist who became a celebrated pop artist while creating works meant to inspire good in others.

Known by some as the Pop Art Nun, Sister Corita gained acclaim for her bold, graphic pop art that calls for peace, equality, and justice.


The Met Faith Ringgold: Narrating the World in Pattern and Color (What the Artist Saw) Cover Image
By Sharna Jackson, Andrea Pippins (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780744039771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: DK Children - November 30th, 2021

See the world through Faith Ringgold's eyes and be inspired to produce your own masterpieces.


The Ultimate Art Museum Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781838663780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Phaidon Press - September 29th, 2021

Wander through The Ultimate Art Museum – home to the finest, most accessible works from around the world and across time

The imaginary art museum: an educational, inspiring experience without the constraints of space and time.


This Little Artist: An Art History Primer Cover Image
By Joan Holub, Daniel Roode (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534442931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little Simon - September 10th, 2019

Learn all about artists who changed history in this engaging and colorful board book perfect for creators-in-training!

Painting, shaping, making art.
With creative joy, hands, and heart.

Little artists have great big imaginations.

In this follow up to This Little President, This Little Explorer, This Little Trailblazer, an


Art This Way Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780714877211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Phaidon Press - November 18th, 2019

View artworks from the Whitney Museum's esteemed collection in a whole new way – an interactive invitation to explore and discover

Unfold pages, lift flaps, gaze into mirrors, and interact with art like never before.


Women Artists A to Z Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593108727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Dial Books - February 11th, 2020

An empowering and educational alphabet picture book about women artists, perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z.


Degas, Painter of Ballerinas Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419728433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 16th, 2019

Through Edgar Degas’s beloved paintings, drawings, and sculptures, Susan Goldman Rubin conveys the wonder and excitement of the ballet world. Degas is one of the most celebrated painters of the impressionist movement, and his ballerina paintings are among the most favorite of his fans.


Through the Window: Views of Marc Chagall's Life and Art Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Mary GrandPre (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524717513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

A gorgeous, expressive picture-book biography of Marc Chagall by the Caldecott Honor team behind The Noisy Paint Box.

Through the window, the student sees . . .
His future--butcher, baker, blacksmith, but turns away.
A classmate sketching a face from a book. His mind blossoms.


Henri's Scissors Cover Image
By Jeanette Winter, Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442464841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 27th, 2013

Step into the colorful world of Henri Matisse and his magnificent paper cutouts in this biography by acclaimed picture book creator Jeanette Winter.

In a small weaving town in France, a young boy named Henri-Emile Matisse drew pictures everywhere, and when he grew up, he moved to Paris and became a famous artist who created paintings that were adored around the world.


Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419716478
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2015

​New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books of 2015
A Robert F.


Portrait of an Artist: Frida Kahlo: Discover the Artist Behind the Masterpieces Cover Image
By Lucy Brownridge, Sandra Dieckmann (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781786036421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - September 3rd, 2019

A beautifully told art story for children, looking at Frida Kahlo's life through her masterpieces.


Portrait of an Artist: Vincent van Gogh: Discover the Artist Behind the Masterpieces Cover Image
By Lucy Brownridge, Edith Carron (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781786036469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - September 3rd, 2019

A beautifully told art story for children, looking at  Vincent van Gogh's life through his masterpieces.


My Big Book of the World's Greatest Art Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9783791373959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Prestel Junior - October 8th, 2019

From cave paintings to Banksy, this stylish, fun, and interactive book will teach kids about 10,000 years of art history.


Kid Artists: True Tales of Childhood from Creative Legends (Kid Legends #3) Cover Image
By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781594748967
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Quirk Books - August 9th, 2016

Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations reveal how Leonardo da Vinci, Beatrix Potter, Keith Haring, and other great artists in history coped with regular-kid problems.
 


A History of Pictures for Children: From Cave Paintings to Computer Drawings Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419732119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

A History of Pictures takes young readers on an adventure through art history. From cave paintings to video games, this book shows how and why pictures have been made, linking art to the human experience. Hockney and Gayford explain each piece of art in the book, helping young minds to grasp difficult concepts.


Art and How it Works: An Introduction to Art for Children Cover Image
By Ann Kay, Tomie dePaola (Foreword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781465468024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: DK Children - November 6th, 2018

This engaging introduction to art appreciation for kids explores art history, themes in art, and art techniques, from cave paintings to modern art.


Take a Picture of Me, James Van Der Zee! Cover Image
By Andrea J. Loney, Keith Mallett (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781620142608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Lee & Low Books - July 24th, 2017

Choices, Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
Junior Library Guild Selection, Junior Library Guild
NAACP Image Award Nominee, NAACP

A biography of James Van Der Zee, innovative and celebrated African American photographer of the Harlem Renaissance.


Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781947440005
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Getty Publications - March 6th, 2018

A 2018 Boston Globe Horn Book Nonfiction Award Winner and a 2018 Moonbeam Children's Books Gold Award Winner!

Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico City in 1942, the oldest of 13 children. When tragedy struck Iturbide as a young mother, she turned to photography for solace and understanding.


Secret Engineer: How Emily Roebling Built the Brooklyn Bridge Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250155320
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 19th, 2019

On a warm spring day in 1883, a woman rode across the Brooklyn Bridge with a rooster on her lap.

It was the first trip across an engineering marvel that had taken nearly fourteen years to construct. The woman's husband was the chief engineer, and he knew all about the dangerous new technique involved. The woman insisted she learn as well.


Zaha Hadid (Little People, BIG DREAMS #31) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781786037459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - October 1st, 2019

Part of the critically acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, Zaha Hadid tells the inspiring true story of the visionary Iraqi-British architect.

Zaha Hadid grew up in Baghdad, Iraq, surrounded by music. She was a curious and confident child, who designed her own modernist bedroom at nine years old.