Extra Ezra Makes an Extra-Special Friend (Hardcover)

Extra Ezra Makes an Extra-Special Friend By Kara LaReau, Vincent X. Kirsch (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Vincent X. Kirsch (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now - Subject to Availability.
2 on hand, as of Dec 8 12:06pm
(PICTURE BOOKS)

Description


"Ebullient readers struggling with being mindful of others and true to their always-on selves should find reassurance in this friendship story." Publishers Weekly

Perfect for fans of Julian Is a Mermaid, this picture book is about a child named Ezra who does everything a little bit extra. But that doesn’t work out so well when a new girl comes to school and his efforts to make friends go over-the-top awry! 

Ezra always lets his light shine bright—extra bright. And he always makes an extra effort when it comes to the people he loves. So when Ezra meets Jane, the new girl at school, he’s ready to do whatever it takes—and more—to be her friend.

He offers her a sparkly cupcake and colorful balloons, and he even writes a flashy song. But Jane doesn’t seem to notice. Ezra is confused—everyone usually loves his gifts! After his failed attempts, Ezra realizes he must ask himself what it truly means to be a good friend.

This book will teach readers the importance of respecting boundaries and open communication in friendships, and it will inspire everyone to celebrate their differences!

"A satisfying picture book.” —Booklist

“Viewers who struggle to empathize well with their classmates or siblings will receive a specifically catered takeaway from this book.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author


Kara LaReau is the author of picture books such as Ugly Fish, illustrated by Scott Magoon; Good Night, Little Monsters, illustrated by Brian Won; and Baby Clown, illustrated by Matthew Cordell; an award-winning chapter book series called The Infamous Ratsos, illustrated by Matt Myers; and middle grade trilogies called The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters, illustrated by Jen Hill, and The ZomBert Chronicles, illustrated by Ryan Andrews. Kara lives in Providence, Rhode Island, with her husband and son. Visit her at www.karalareau.com




Vincent X. Kirsch is an award-winning illustrator and writer of books and scripts for the stage, screen, and television living in Asheville, North Carolina. His whimsical stories and characters range from the fantastically out-of-this-world to inspiringly down-to-earth. Take a look at his website to get a glimpse into his imagination: www.vincentxkirsch.com.


Praise For…


"Ebullient readers struggling with being mindful of others and true to their always-on selves should find reassurance in this friendship story."Publishers Weekly

"A satisfying picture book.”Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062965653
ISBN-10: 0062965654
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 22nd, 2022
Pages: 32
Language: English