Melvina Whitmoore (More or Less a Horror Story) (Hardcover)

Melvina Whitmoore (More or Less a Horror Story) By Faith Capalia, Faith Capalia (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Faith Capalia, Faith Capalia (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now - Subject to Availability.
1 on hand, as of Apr 12 1:04pm
(PICTURE BOOKS)

Description


"Capalia’s stylish digital art contains myriad giggle-and-goosebump-worthy details . . . [a] satisfying roller-coaster ride of a debut." —Publishers Weekly

Perfect for fans of The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything, Melvina Whitmoore (More or Less a Horror Story) is a spooky picture book debut by author/illustrator Faith Capalia that follows a fearful old woman named Melvina.

Melvina Whitmoore is afraid of everything, from spiders to snails, and even her own shadow. Which is why she can’t wait to move into her new house—a safe place where nothing will be able to get to her!

But she’ll soon discover that surprises hide around every corner and not everything is as it first seems. . . .

From debut creator Faith Capalia comes a spooky and thrilling tale that reminds us that unexpected things can happen when we face our fears. 

About the Author


Faith Capalia is a friend to all ghosts, ghouls, and creepy crawlies (but would rather they ask before visiting). Faith is an illustrator, author, preschool teacher, and spooky story aficionado. She has two cats who make very inefficient studio assistants (but she loves them anyways). She grew up in Colorado but currently lives in Portland, Oregon. Melvina Whitmoore (More or Less a Horror Story) is Faith’s debut picture book.



Faith Capalia is a friend to all ghosts, ghouls, and creepy crawlies (but would rather they ask before visiting). Faith is an illustrator, author, preschool teacher, and spooky story aficionado. She has two cats who make very inefficient studio assistants (but she loves them anyways). She grew up in Colorado but currently lives in Portland, Oregon. Melvina Whitmoore (More or Less a Horror Story) is Faith’s debut picture book.

Praise For…


"Capalia’s stylish digital art contains myriad giggle-and-goosebump-worthy details... [a] satisfying roller-coaster ride of a debut." — Publishers Weekly

"­The narration emphasizes that safety is not always found where it is expected and, in this case, ­Melvina finds the comfort she craves within the community of strangers who become her friends... Collections looking for eccentric SEL-themed picture books exploring topics of safety, fear, change, and risk-taking may wish to add this one."—School Library JournalSchool Library Journal

The new house and the stylized monsters call up a more cartoonish Nightmare Before Christmas and utilize classic Halloween colors of black, orange, and purple. Melvina’s upended expectations about the monsters convey a useful message about fear based on assumptions, and the charming closing scene, in which Melvina, surrounded by her monster friends, reads a book below a wall of photos of them together, brings an added layer of gentle absurdity. Kids who like their spooky stories a tad less scary can get into the Halloween spirit as safely as Melvina with Capalia’s wonderful and cozy debut — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063247826
ISBN-10: 0063247828
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English