Double Bass Blues (Hardcover)

Double Bass Blues Cover Image
By Andrea J. Loney, Rudy Gutierrez (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Jul 11 12:15am
(PICTURE BOOKS)

Description


A Caldecott Honor Book! A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.

Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds--his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he's jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle.

About the Author


Andrea J. Loney grew up in New Jersey with a love for music--in her school band she played the xylophone. After receiving an MFA from New York University, she joined a circus, then moved to Hollywood to write for film and television. Her previous picture books include the New Voices Award-winning biography Take a Picture of Me, James Van Der Zee! and Bunnybear. Currently a computer science instructor at a community college, Andrea lives with her family and their pets in a Los Angeles home filled with music . . . and picture books. Learn more at andreajloney.com or on Twitter at @AndreaJLoney.

Rudy Gutierrez is an award-winning illustrator whose works have earned him a Pura Belpré Honor, an Américas Award, a Children's Africana Book Award, and a New York Book Award. A Bronx native, he now lives in New Jersey and teaches illustration at the Pratt Institute. In 2002, he was commissioned to create the cover for Santana's multi-platinum album Shaman, and his art hangs in the private collections of musical icons Carlos Santana, Clive Davis, and Wayne Shorter, among others. Learn more at rudygutierrez.net or on Twitter at @Rudy_Gutierrez_art.

Praise For…


Caldecott Honor Award Winner 

“Simple language complements complex paintings to create the perfect literary melody.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

 “A harmony of sound and emotion through a child’s journey, his family’s warmth, and music’s restorative powers.” –Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

 “A book about a lot of things—music, and determination, and straddling worlds, and the celebration of Black boyhood and family—that nevertheless feels cohesive and effortless.” –Horn Book, Starred Review

"Acrylic paintings in rich colors exude movement and energy.... Readers will understand that Nic’s talent brings him great joy." —Booklist

“Multiple layers will invite a second viewing as viewers look beyond the light-touched close-ups of Nic’s face to the outlined figures of busy travelers and whorls of music where each note head carries an expression in this visually emotive story.”  —Bulletin

Colorful, full of movement, limited in text but loaded with emotion, this is an ode to the diversity of music and the determination of a talented kid.” —School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524718527
ISBN-10: 1524718521
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019
Pages: 32