Celebrate Nowruz - Persian New Year

Nowruz 2024 will begin at 8:06PM on Tuesday, March 19th
 
Seven Special Somethings: A Nowruz Story By Adib Khorram, Zainab Faidhi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Adib Khorram, Zainab Faidhi (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593108260
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Dial Books - February 16th, 2021

A picture book celebrating Persian New Year by award-winning author Adib Khorram


The Monster in the Bathhouse By Sina Merabian, Sina Merabian (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sina Merabian, Sina Merabian (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534496828
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 22nd, 2022

How to Catch a Monster meets Persian myth in this engaging picture book set in a lively Iranian bathhouse the day before the Persian New Year as three boys encounter something unexpected.

The bathhouse is always busy the day before Nowruz. Everyone wants to be clean for the new year!


Memory Garden By Zohreh Ghahremani, Susie Ghahremani (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250843036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Godwin Books - February 27th, 2024

A lively afternoon together in Nana’s garden is full of laughter, discovery, and connection. In lyrical text that blends past and present, Memory Garden takes us to the places we leave behind but never forget.


The Donkey's Gone! By Omid Arabian, Shilla Shakoori (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Omid Arabian, Shilla Shakoori (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781644210901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Triangle Square - January 25th, 2022

A Rumi story turned into a fun, illustrated allegory for kids.


Darius the Great Is Not Okay By Adib Khorram Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780525552970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Penguin Books - August 20th, 2019

Darius doesn't think he'll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

Winner of the William C. Morris Debut Award


“Heartfelt, tender, and so utterly real. I’d live in this book forever if I could.”


Darius the Great Deserves Better By Adib Khorram Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780593108253
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Dial Books - August 24th, 2021

In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It's everything he's ever wanted--but what if he deserves better?


Once There Was By Kiyash Monsef Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665928502
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 4th, 2023

A New York Times bestseller!
A Morris Award Finalist

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them meets Neil Gaiman in this “striking and heartfelt” (Kirkus Reviews) novel about an Iranian American girl who discovers that her father was secretly a veterinarian to magical creatures—and that she must take up his mantle, despite the many


A Very Large Expanse of Sea By Tahereh Mafi Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062866578
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - October 8th, 2019

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature!


Funny in Farsi: A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America By Firoozeh Dumas Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812968378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 13th, 2004

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Finalist for the PEN/USA Award in Creative Nonfiction, the Thurber Prize for American Humor, and the Audie Award in Biography/Memoir

This Random House Reader’s Circle edition includes a reading group guide and a conversation between Firoozeh Dumas and Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner!


Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card By Sara Saedi Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524717827
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Ember - March 26th, 2019

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!


Staff Pick Badge
It Ain't So Awful, Falafel By Firoozeh Dumas Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781328740960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Clarion Books - August 15th, 2017

Zomorod (Cindy) Yousefzadeh is the new kid on the block...for the fourth time.

California’s Newport Beach is her family’s latest perch, and she’s determined to shuck her brainy loner persona and start afresh with a new Brady Bunch name—Cindy.


Saffron Ice Cream By Rashin Kheiriyeh, Rashin Kheiriyeh (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338150520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 29th, 2018

A joyous celebration of a girl's first family outing in a new country

"With her colorful, exuberant folk-art illustrations and upbeat, friendly tone, Rashin makes a daunting cross-cultural leap seem as easy as a summer breeze." -- New York Times Book ReviewRashin is excited about her first visit to the beach in her family's new home.


Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story) By Daniel Nayeri Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781646142729
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Levine Querido - August 8th, 2023

WINNER, MICHAEL L.


Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (Pantheon Graphic Library) By Marjane Satrapi Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780375714573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Pantheon - June 1st, 2004

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Wise, funny, and heartbreaking, Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi’s acclaimed graphic memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution.


The Complete Persepolis: Volumes 1 and 2 (Pantheon Graphic Library) By Marjane Satrapi, Anjali Singh (Translated by) Cover Image
By Marjane Satrapi, Anjali Singh (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780375714832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Pantheon - October 30th, 2007

Here, in one volume: Marjane Satrapi's best-selling, internationally acclaimed graphic memoir of growing up as a girl in Iran during the revolution has for twenty years been a classroom staple, a feminist manifesto, and one of the most popular and widely known graphic novels of all time. 


The Girl with a Brave Heart By Rita Jahanforuz, Vali Mintzi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rita Jahanforuz, Vali Mintzi (Illustrator)
$9.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781846869310
Published: Barefoot Books - March 1st, 2013

Young Shiraz lives a lonely life with her stepmother and stepsister, completely unaware of the old woman who lives alone next door...until Shiraz's runaway yarn ball brings them face-to-face. This beautiful story from Tehran-born Israeli pop star Rita Jahanforuz explores the power of listening to others and the value of empathy.


Wave: A Novel in Verse By Diana Farid, Kris Goto (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Diana Farid, Kris Goto (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781951836580
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Cameron Kids - March 29th, 2022

Winner of the Cybils Award for Poetry Novel, Diana Farid’s Wave is a coming-of-age novel in verse set in 1980s Southern California, about a Persian American girl who rides the waves, falls, and finds her way back to the shore, illustrated by Kris Goto.
 
Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
A School Library Journal Best Middle Grade


The Tryout: A Graphic Novel By Christina Soontornvat, Joanna Cacao (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338741261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Graphix - September 6th, 2022

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

“A captivating middle-grade gem.” — The New York Times Book Review

“Funny, rel