East Asia - Korea

When You Trap a Tiger: (Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524715700
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 28th, 2020

WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

 
Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother.


Banned Book Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Iron Circus Comics - May 19th, 2020

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Highly recommended for readers passionate about activism. -- SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, Starred Review

Sure to inspire today's youthful generation of tenacious changemakers. -- BOOKLIST, Starred Review

The messages of hope are universal. -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review


Sunday Funday in Koreatown (Yoomi, Friends, and Family) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823444472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Holiday House - March 16th, 2021

Yoomi and Daddy are going to Koreatown today! This story celebrates family, resilience, and Korean culture.

Yoomi has planned the perfect Sunday! But the shirt she wants to wear is in the laundry. And she doesn't have the seaweed she needs for a kimbap breakfast.


Wicked Fox Cover Image
By Kat Cho
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984812346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 25th, 2019

An addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul.

Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so few believe in the old tales anymore, and with so many evil men no one will miss, the modern city of Seoul is the perfect place to hide and hunt.


Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book 

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo


A Single Shard Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780547534268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Clarion Books - January 10th, 2011

The Newbery Medal-winning tale of an orphan boy whose dream of becoming a master potter leads to unforeseen adventure in ancient Korea.​

Tree-ear is an orphan boy in a 12th-century Korean village renowned for its ceramics. When he accidentally breaks a delicate piece of pottery, he volunteers to work to pay for the damage.


The Turtle Ship Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781885008909
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Shen's Books - June 5th, 2018

A young Korean boy named Sun-sin designs one of the greatest battleships in history and fulfills his dream of sailing the world.


Seesaw Girl Cover Image
By Mou-Sien Tseng (Illustrator), Linda Sue Park, Jean Tseng (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780547248882
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Clarion Books - September 14th, 2009

Jade never ventures beyond the walls of her family's Inner Court; in seventeenth-century Korea, a girl of good family does not leave home until she marries.


Bee-Bim Bop! Cover Image
By Linda Sue Park, Ho Baek Lee (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780547076713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Clarion Books - November 10th, 2008

A Korean-American girl celebrates food and family in this cheerful picture book about cooking with Mama by Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park.

Bee-bim bop (the name translates as “mix-mix rice”) is a traditional Korean dish of rice topped, and then mixed, with meat and vegetables.


Korean Children's Favorite Stories: Fables, Myths and Fairy Tales Cover Image
By Kim So-Un, Jeong Kyoung-Sim (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780804850209
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tuttle Publishing - March 3rd, 2020

This colorfully illustrated multicultural Korean children's book presents Korean fairy tales and other folk stories--providing insight into a vibrant literary culture.


Tiny Feet Between the Mountains Cover Image
By Hanna Cha, Hanna Cha (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534429925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

A young Korean girl must come up with a clever idea to help a spirit tiger who has swallowed the sun by mistake in this fun, charming debut picture book from author-illustrator Hanna Cha.

Soe-In is a tiny child in a village full of large people.


The Korean Cinderella Cover Image
By Shirley Climo, Ruth Heller (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780064433976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - January 18th, 1996

"This masterfully retold version of Cinderella presents real Korean customs and includes dramatic, brightly colored illustrations" (Children's Literature).


My First Book of Korean Words: An ABC Rhyming Book of Korean Language and Culture Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780804849401
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tuttle Publishing - August 29th, 2017

My First Book of Korean Words is a beautifully illustrated book that introduces young children to Korean language and culture through everyday words.

The words profiled in this book are all commonly used in the Korean language and are both informative and fun for English-speaking children to learn.


Three Korean Fairy Tales: Beloved Stories and Legends Cover Image
By Kim So-Un, Jeong Kyoung-Sim (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780804852272
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tuttle Publishing - October 1st, 2019

This multicultural children's book presents a selection of traditional Korean folk tales that are instantly recognizable to Koreans of all ages. These treasured tales are retold by Kim So-un, an eminent storyteller who is a household name in Korea. The illustrations combine modern and traditional Korean art elements and techniques in telling these classic stories.


Korean Celebrations: Festivals, Holidays and Traditions Cover Image
By Tina Cho, Farida Zaman (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780804846943
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tuttle Publishing - August 13th, 2019

Korean Celebrations takes young readers on an exciting exploration of Korea's colorful festivals and family celebrations--wonderful days that are filled with exciting activities and delicious foods.


All about Korea: Stories, Songs, Crafts and Games for Kids Cover Image
By Ann Martin Bowler, Soosoonam Barg (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780804849388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tuttle Publishing - April 17th, 2018

**Creative Child Magazine Preferred Choice Award Winner**


Where's Halmoni? Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781632170774
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little Bigfoot - October 3rd, 2017

Beautifully illustrated and told by debut author Julie Kim, this own voices picture book in graphic-novel style follows a young Korean girl and boy whose search for their missing grandmother leads them into a world inspired by Korean folklore, complete with mischievous goblins (dokkebi), a greedy tiger, a clever rabbit, and a wily fox.
 


New Must Read Books!

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners Cover Image
Awesome Asian Americans: 20 Stars Who Made America Amazing Cover Image
Your Heart, My Sky: Love in a Time of Hunger Cover Image
Abby, Tried and True Cover Image
Amber and Clay Cover Image
Rowley Jefferson’s Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories Cover Image
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City Cover Image
Dog Man: Mothering Heights: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #10) Cover Image
The Dangerous Gift (Wings of Fire, Book 14) Cover Image