Fourth of July Books

An American Story (Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner) By Kwame Alexander, Dare Coulter (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kwame Alexander, Dare Coulter (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316473125
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2023

A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Book
A 2023 New York Times Best Children's Book
A 2023 Publisher's Weekly Best Picture Book
An NPR Best Book of the Year

#1 New York Times Bestselling and award-winning author of The Undefeated, Kwame Alexander, pens a powerful picture book that tells the stor


Forgotten Founders: Black Patriots, Women Soldiers, and Other Thinkers and Heroes Who Shaped Early America By Mifflin Lowe, Wiliam Luong (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mifflin Lowe, Wiliam Luong (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781638190929
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Bushel & Peck Books - June 7th, 2022

" T]he cause is just, and readers will come away with a firmer understanding that, as the introduction has it, the story of this country's founding is 'everyone's story.'"--Booklist

A Junior Library Guild Gold Selection


History Smashers: The American Revolution By Kate Messner, Justin Greenwood (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Justin Greenwood (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593120460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


On the Fourth of July: A Sparkly Picture Book About Independence Day By Maggie C. Rudd, Elisa Chavarri (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maggie C. Rudd, Elisa Chavarri (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374390143
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - June 13th, 2023

Happy birthday, America! This picture book celebrates patriotism, community, and summertime from the dynamic duo that brought you I'll Hold Your Hand.


Pie Is for Sharing By Stephanie Parsley Ledyard, Jason Chin (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781626725621
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Roaring Brook Press - May 15th, 2018

A picnic, a beach, a pie cut into pieces and shared with good friends.
Pie is for sharing.
It starts off round, and you can slice it into as many pieces as you want. What else can be shared? A ball, of course. A tree? What about time?


Only in America Activity Book (Americana #13) By Alan Berry Rhys (Illustrator), Claire Saunders, Heather Alexander Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780711272897
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - April 12th, 2022

Play your way through the U.S. of A with the ​Only in America!


If You Want a Friend in Washington: Wacky, Wild & Wonderful Presidential Pets By Erin McGill Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593122693
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Schwartz & Wade - July 7th, 2020

A clever, funny, and informative look at the pets--from Calvin Coolidge's wallaby to Teddy Roosevelt's flying squirrels--that have passed through the White House gates. Perfect for fans of I Am George Washington and So You Want to Be President?


1776 By David McCullough Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780743226721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 4th, 2006

America’s beloved and distinguished historian presents, in a book of breathtaking excitement, drama, and narrative force, the stirring story of the year of our nation’s birth, 1776, interweaving, on both sides of the Atlantic, the actions and decisions that led Great Britain to undertake a war against her rebellious colonial subjects and that placed America’s survival in the h


Buried Lives: The Enslaved People of George Washington's Mount Vernon By Carla Killough McClafferty Cover Image
$15.99
Not available for order currently.
ISBN: 9780823447411
Published: Holiday House - January 25th, 2022

The untold story of the enslaved people of Mount Vernon, and the illuminating history that is still being discovered in George Washington's historic home today.


Turtle Island: The Story of North America's First People By Yellowhorn, Lowinger Cover Image
$14.95
Not available for order currently.
ISBN: 9781554519439
Published: Annick Press - September 12th, 2017

Unlike most books that chronicle the history of Native peoples beginning with the arrival of Europeans in 1492, this book goes back to the Ice Age to give young readers a glimpse of what life was like pre-contact. The title, Turtle Island, refers to a Native myth that explains how North and Central America were formed on the back of a turtle.


Anna Strong and the Revolutionary War Culper Spy Ring: A Spy on History Book By Enigma Alberti, Laura Terry (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Enigma Alberti, Laura Terry (Illustrator)
$9.95
Not available for order currently.
ISBN: 9781523502165
Published: Workman Publishing Company - April 2nd, 2019

Your Mission: Discover Anna’s secret message using spycraft tools to uncover hidden codes!

It’s a true story of the American Revolution:
Meet the secret Culper Ring, a network of American spies fighting against the army of British redcoats, and historical figures like George Washington and the soon-to-be-infamous Benedict Arnold.


The Founders Unmasked (True History) By Jennifer Sabin, Christopher Sebastian Parker (Introduction by) Cover Image
$8.99
Not available for order currently.
ISBN: 9780593386101
Published: Penguin Workshop - February 15th, 2022

"Its power to spark important conversations should not be underestimated." Booklist
 
"A powerful series that fills in the cracks and illuminates the shadows of the past." —Sherri L. Smith, award-winning author of Flygirl
 


An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People #2) By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by) Cover Image
By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807049396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Beacon Press - July 23rd, 2019

2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book

2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council


King George: What Was His Problem?: Everything Your Schoolbooks Didn't Tell You About the American Revolution By Steve Sheinkin, Tim Robinson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Steve Sheinkin, Tim Robinson (Illustrator)
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250075772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Square Fish - September 22nd, 2015

New York Times bestselling author and Newbery Honor recipient Steve Sheinkin gives young readers an American history lesson they'll never forget in the fun and funny King George: What Was His Problem?: Everything Your Schoolbooks Didn't Tell You About the American Revolution, featuring illustrations by Tim Robinson.


The Fourth of July Story By Alice Dalgliesh, Marie Nonnast (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Alice Dalgliesh, Marie Nonnast (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780689718762
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Aladdin - June 1st, 1995

An accessible story of America’s birthday brings alive the history and spirit of the Fourth of July, with an introduction to the fight for independence and the events and people that shaped American tradition.

What happened on the Fourth of July long before there were fireworks and parades?


History Smashers: The American Revolution By Kate Messner, Justin Greenwood (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Justin Greenwood (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593120460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


American Revolution: A Nonfiction Companion to Magic Tree House #22: Revolutionary War on Wednesday (Magic Tree House (R) Fact Tracker #11) By Mary Pope Osborne, Natalie Pope Boyce, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375823794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - August 10th, 2004

The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system! Getting the facts behind the fiction has never looked better.

Track the facts with Jack and Annie!


The American Revolution (Blast Back!) By Nancy Ohlin, Adam Larkum (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nancy Ohlin, Adam Larkum (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781499801224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: little bee books - May 31st, 2016

Get ready to blast back to the American Revolution and discover what life was like during that time!

When people talk about the American Revolution, things like the thirteen colonies and the Boston Tea Party may come to mind. But what was it really like during that time?


What Is the Declaration of Independence? (What Was?) By Michael C. Harris, Who HQ, Jerry Hoare (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Michael C. Harris, Who HQ, Jerry Hoare (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448486925
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Penguin Workshop - May 10th, 2016

Step back in time to the birth of the United States of America and meet the real-life rebels who made this country free!


George vs. George: The American Revolution As Seen from Both Sides By Rosalyn Schanzer Cover Image
$6.95
ISBN: 9781426300424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: National Geographic Kids - January 9th, 2007

There are two sides to every story. Rosalyn Schanzer's engaging and wonderfully illustrated book brings to life both sides of the American Revolution.