Hallie's Picks

Pride Puppy! By Robin Stevenson, Julie McLaughlin (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Robin Stevenson, Julie McLaughlin (Illustrator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781459824843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Orca Book Publishers - May 11th, 2021

This joyful and colorful ABC book follows a family enjoying their city’s Pride parade. When their puppy accidentally gets away, other folks at the parade must help to reunite them! With a wide spectrum of variously diverse background characters and a sweet rhyming story, this is a fun picture book for all families.


Stage Dreams By Melanie Gillman, Melanie Gillman (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Melanie Gillman, Melanie Gillman (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781541572843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - September 3rd, 2019

Stage Dreams is a western adventure story with a dash of queer romance! Grace, a trans girl runaway, is kidnapped for ransom by the notorious Latina outlaw Ghost Hawk, but they team up to fight a Confederate plot and save the Union. Gillman’s gorgeous and meticulous colored pencil illustrations bring this graphic novel to life.


Spring Cakes (I Like to Read Comics) By Miranda Harmon Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780823449354
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Holiday House - August 24th, 2021

It's time to bake magical spring cakes! But can these adorable kittens find all the ingredients? Find out in this early graphic reader!


The Girls I've Been By Tess Sharpe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593353806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2021

Nora’s a hostage in a bank robbery, along with her current girlfriend (who she might love) and her ex-boyfriend/BFF (who’s furious with her). But Nora is so much more than she seems. The characters are complex and realistic and the action is intense in this new queer YA thriller!


The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother) By David Levithan Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984848598
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 2nd, 2021

Lucas’ brother disappeared for six days. When he comes back, he insists he went to a magical world. This compelling middle grade novel deftly interweaves LGBT characters in a story about what - and who - we choose to believe.


$23.08
SKU: 9782369020479f

$21.96
SKU: 9782372730808f

$25.52
SKU: 9782355040610f

$23.08
SKU: 9782372730631f
What name should the personalization use?

Staff Pick Badge
As the Crow Flies By Melanie Gillman Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781945820069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Iron Circus Comics - November 14th, 2017

Charlie Lamonte is thirteen years old, queer, black, and questioning what was once a firm belief in God. So naturally, she's spending a week of her summer vacation stuck at an all-white Christian youth backpacking camp.


The Midnight Lie (Forgotten Gods #1) By Marie Rutkoski Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374306380
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - March 3rd, 2020

Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s Trilogy, Marie Rutkoski's The Midnight Lie is an epic LGBTQ romantic fantasy about learning to free ourselves from the lies others tell us—and the lies we tell ourselves.


Over the Woodward Wall (The Up-and-Under #1) By A. Deborah Baker Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765399274
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tordotcom - October 6th, 2020

Writing as A. Deborah Baker, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Seanan McGuire introduces readers to a world of talking trees and sarcastic owls, of dangerous mermaids and captivating queens in Over the Woodward Wall, an exceptional tale for readers who are young at heart.

If you trust her you’ll never make it home…


A Polar Bear in the Snow By Mac Barnett, Shawn Harris (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Shawn Harris (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536203967
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Candlewick - October 13th, 2020

A majestic polar bear heads out on a mysterious walk in a dazzling, playful collaboration from an exciting pair of picture-book creators.


The Boy and the Gorilla By Jackie Azúa Kramer, Cindy Derby (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jackie Azúa Kramer, Cindy Derby (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763698324
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Candlewick - October 13th, 2020

This profoundly moving tale about a grieving boy and an imaginary gorilla makes real the power of talking about loss.


Staff Pick Badge
Margaret's Unicorn By Briony May Smith Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984896537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Anne Schwartz Books - September 15th, 2020

Although it’s brand-new, this picture book by British author Briony May Smith already feels like a beloved classic. The illustrations are gorgeous, realistic but with a dreamy feel, and easily transport the reader to the author’s homeland. The story of Margaret learning to take care of a lost baby unicorn is perfect for any child moving to a new home or getting a new pet; or for anyone who loves unicorns! Margaret also learns a lesson about letting go of the things you love (and hoping they’ll come back). 


Staff Pick Badge
D'Aulaires Book of Greek Myths By Ingri d'Aulaire, Edgar Parin d'Aulaire Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780440406945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Delacorte Press - March 1st, 1992

The go-to book for introducing children of all ages to Greek mythology -- or for expanding their knowledge, for readers of the many mythology-inspired series out there. Inviting illustrations throughout are paired with deeply researched information, making the material fascinating for both young readers and adults. D’Aulaires has been reprinted with a sleek black cover and new afterword, though they kept the illustration of Helios which has been familiar to generations of Classics enthusiasts. 


Staff Pick Badge
How to Make Friends with the Dark By Kathleen Glasgow Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101934753
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Delacorte Press - April 9th, 2019

From the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces comes a novel about love and loss and learning how to continue when it feels like you're surrounded by darkness that Karen M. McManus, the New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying, calls "rare and powerful."

Here is what happens when your mother dies.


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart By Holly Ringland Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781487005221
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: House of Anansi Press - August 7th, 2018

An enchanting and captivating novel about how our untold stories haunt us -- and the stories we tell ourselves in order to survive.


Staff Pick Badge
The Night Tiger: A Novel By Yangsze Choo Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250175465
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - January 7th, 2020

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world.” —Kirkus (starred review)


An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee


Staff Pick Badge
Fly By Night By Frances Hardinge Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781419724855
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - March 14th, 2017

Discover a world where words have untold power in this thrilling fantasy adventure from award-winning author Frances Hardinge
 
Everybody knew that books were dangerous.


Staff Pick Badge
The Odyssey By Homer, Emily Wilson (Translated by) Cover Image
By Homer, Emily Wilson (Translated by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393356250
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 6th, 2018

A New York Times Notable Book of 2018

"Wilson’s language is fresh, unpretentious and lean…It is rare to find a translation that is at once so effortlessly easy to read and so rigorously considered." —Madeline Miller, author of Circe