Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson On Growing Up, Coming Out And Saying Hi To Strangers :  Code Switch : NPRAuthors on Editing Interview with Jacqueline Woodson - Kris Spisak

Staff Pick Badge
The Day You Begin Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399246531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2018

A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Featured in its own episode in the Netflix original show Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices!


Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2016

Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner is a powerful memoir that tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

A President Obama "O" Book Club pick


Red at the Bone: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525535270
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - September 17th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

"A spectacular novel that only this legend can pull off." -Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of  HOW TO BE AN ANTIRACIST, in The Atlantic


Harbor Me Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525515142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - April 21st, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Jacqueline Woodson's first middle-grade novel since National Book Award winner Brown Girl Dreaming celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories.


The Other Side Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, E. B. Lewis (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399231162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2001

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

Clover's mom says it isn't safe to cross the fence that segregates their African-American side of town from the white side where Anna lives. But the two girls strike up a friendship, and get around the grown-ups' rules by sitting on top of the fence together.


Each Kindness Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, E. B. Lewis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399246524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - October 2nd, 2012

WINNER OF A CORETTA SCOTT KING HONOR AND THE JANE ADDAMS PEACE AWARD!

Each kindness makes the world a little better


Another Brooklyn: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062359995
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Amistad - May 30th, 2017

A Finalist for the 2016 National Book Award

New York Times Bestseller

A SeattleTimes pick for Summer Reading Roundup 2017

A Bustle Fall Roundup pick for 2017


If You Come Softly Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142415221
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Penguin Books - January 7th, 2010

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson


After Tupac and D Foster Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142413999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - January 7th, 2010

 


Miracle's Boys Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142415535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - January 7th, 2010

From a four-time Newbery Honor author, a novel that was awarded the 2001 Coretta Scott King award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize


Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399252518
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2014

A New York Times Bestseller and National Book Award Winner

Jacqueline Woodson, the acclaimed author of
Red at the Bone, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.
 


Locomotion Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142415528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - January 7th, 2010

Finalist for the National Book Award


Visiting Day Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, James Ransome (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147516084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - August 11th, 2015

In this moving picture book from multi-award winning author Jacqueline Woodson, a young girl and her grandmother prepare for a very special day--the one day a month they get to visit the girl's father in prison.


From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142416419
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - July 8th, 2010

Three-time Newbery Honor author Jacqueline Woodson explores race and sexuality through the eyes of a compelling narrator


Last Summer with Maizon Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780698119291
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Puffin Books - May 27th, 2002

Margaret loves her parents and hanging out with her best friend, Maizon. Then it happens, like a one-two punch, during the summer she turns eleven: first, Margaret's father dies of a heart attack, and then Maizon is accepted at an expensive boarding school, far away from the city they call home.


Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

WINNER OF THE NAACP IMAGE AWARD


WINNER OF THE CORETTA SCOTT KING AUTHOR AWARD
 
National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson's stirring novel-in-verse explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed and the cost of professional sports on Black bodies.