Maddy's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Darkness Outside Us By Eliot Schrefer Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062888280
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 1st, 2021

Lovers of mystery, romance, and the horrors of space, this one is for you! I loved the worldbuilding and the love that built between the main characters, and was absolutely stunned by the plot twist halfway through that completely turned the book on its head.


Staff Pick Badge
The Valley and the Flood By Rebecca Mahoney Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593114353
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Razorbill - February 23rd, 2021

"A tense and beautiful tale about the monsters we make and the memories that haunt us." —Kate Alice Marshall, author of I Am Still Alive and Rules for Vanishing


Staff Pick Badge
The Little Library (Mr. Tiffin's Classroom Series) By Margaret McNamara, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Margaret McNamara, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525578338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Schwartz & Wade - March 23rd, 2021

Mr. Tiffin and his students from the perennially popular How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? and The Dinosaur Expert make friends with, Librarian Beck a new character in the series who also happens to be non-binary. This thoughtful picture book is about a wood-working project that helps a young student become a book lover.


On the Other Side of the Forest By Nadine Robert, Gérard DuBois (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nadine Robert, Gérard DuBois (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781771647960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Greystone Kids - April 13th, 2021

A 2021 New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Children's Book

"Absorbing storytelling."--Publishers Weekly STARRED Review

"A riveting read."--Kirkus Reviews STARRED Review


Maybe Tomorrow? (a story about loss, healing, and friendship) By Charlotte Agell, Ana Ramírez González (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338214888
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Scholastic Press - March 26th, 2019

A heartwarming story about loss, healing, and how to be a friend during hard times.

This tender exploration of loss illuminates the sustaining power of kindness, empathy, and friendship. It will resonate with anyone who has experienced hardship or grief, from the death of a loved one or a pet, to the transition to a new home, family situation, or learning environment.


Who Will You Be? By Andrea Pippins Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984849489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Schwartz & Wade - April 7th, 2020

For fans of I Am Enough, The Day You Begin, and The Wonderful Things You Will Be, here is a poignant picture book about how family and community help shape the wonderful people our children become.

My child, my little one,
Who will you be when you are grown?
There's loving kindness in your eyes, like your daddy's


Outside, Inside By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator) Cover Image
By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250798350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 5th, 2021

From Caldecott honoree LeUyen Pham, Outside, Inside is a moving picture book that captures the unforgettable moment during the pandemic when people all over the world came together. It celebrates the essential workers, frontline workers, and communities that worked with each other to protect our loved ones.


A Place Inside of Me: A Poem to Heal the Heart By Zetta Elliott, Noa Denmon (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Noa Denmon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374307417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 21st, 2020

Caldecott Honor Book
Today Show Best Book for the Holidays
ALA Notable Book for All Ages

ALSC Notable Children's Book
NCTE Notable Poetry Book

Evanston Public Library's Top 100 Great Book for Kids
Nerdy Award Winner for Single Poem Picture Book

Bank Street Best Books of the Year


I Talk Like a River By Jordan Scott, Sydney Smith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jordan Scott, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823445592
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 1st, 2020

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winner

 
What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to?
 
Sometimes it takes a change of perspective to get the words flowing.


Land of the Cranes By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

From the prolific author of The Moon Within comes the heart-wrenchingly beautiful story in verse of a young Latinx girl who learns to hold on to hope and love even in the darkest of places: a family detention center for migrants and refugees.

Nine-year-old Betita knows she is a crane.


The Paper Kingdom By Helena Ku Rhee, Pascal Campion (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Helena Ku Rhee, Pascal Campion (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525644613
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 18th, 2020

An office at night is reimagined as a fantastical kingdom of paper complete with friendly dragons in this own voices picture book.


Monster and Boy By Hannah Barnaby, Anoosha Syed (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Hannah Barnaby, Anoosha Syed (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250791443
Availability: Backordered - Subject to Publisher Availability
Published: Square Fish - March 2nd, 2021

Fall in love with the friendship between Monster and Boy in this exciting new chapter book series from writer Hannah Barnaby and illustrator Anoosha Syed.

When Monster (who lives under the bed) meets Boy (who sleeps in the bed), Boy starts to scream—and Monster promptly swallows him. It's the beginning of a beautiful friendship!


The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother) By David Levithan Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984848598
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 2nd, 2021

New York Times bestselling author David Levithan takes young readers on twisting journey through truth, reality, and fantasy and belief.


The Girl from the Sea: A Graphic Novel By Molly Knox Ostertag Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338540574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Graphix - June 1st, 2021

From the author of The Witch Boy trilogy comes a graphic novel about family, romance, and first love.

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives.


On a Sunbeam By Tillie Walden Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250178138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: First Second - October 2nd, 2018

“Tillie Walden is the future of comics, and On a Sunbeam is her best work yet. It’s a ‘space’ story unlike any you’ve ever read, with a rich, lived-in universe of complex characters.” —Brian K. Vaughan, Saga and Paper Girls

Two timelines. Second chances. One love.


It Was Supposed to Be Sunny (Little Senses) By Samantha Cotterill, Samantha Cotterill (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525553472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Dial Books - March 30th, 2021

When Laila's birthday party is thrown off track by an unexpected thunderstorm, it would be easy for her to get overwhelmed and cancel the party entirely. With the help of her mom and her service dog, Charlie, Laila figures out how to adjust to the changes and have the fun celebration she hoped for.

I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful all of the "Little Senses" books are, and Cotterill's newest is no exception! She writes with love and empathy for all children, but especially for children with autism or sensory processing issues. It Was Supposed to Be Sunny combines beautiful illustrations with a sweet story that has real coping tools for children, and this book is a great addition to any child's library. 


Staff Pick Badge
Madame Badobedah By Sophie Dahl, Lauren O'Hara (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sophie Dahl, Lauren O'Hara (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536210224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Walker Books US - April 7th, 2020

Mabel lives in her parents' seaside hotel year-round, and is always interested in the guests. That is never more true than the day the secretive Madame Badobedah (or so Mabel calls her) rolls in with her many suitcases and trinkets and takes up residence in one of the rooms. Mabel starts out spying on her and coming up with stories for why she's arrived at the hotel, but ends up with an unlikely and cherished friend.

This is a longer picture book that is absolutely charming and imaginative, with Mabel and Madame Bedobedah both being sharp, interesting characters that you can't help but want to read more about. Ages 5+.


Staff Pick Badge
The Moon Within (Scholastic Gold) By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338283389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 5th, 2020

Hailed as the Are You There God, It's Me Margaret? for a new generation, The Moon Within captures the complexities of coming of age with a beautiful novel in verse. Celi Rivera finds herself stuck in a changing landscape– her body, her best friend, her feelings towards boys, and between all of this her mother is insisting that she have a moon ceremony when her first period arrives as part of an ancestral Mexica ritual (though Celi can't think of anything more embarrassing).

Celi is a powerful young character and her story is equally powerful, especially to readers who are surrounded by change themselves. Ages 9+.


Staff Pick Badge
Sanity & Tallulah By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

There are many things that a young, gifted scientist could do with her skills in the lab, and Sanity knows exactly what she ought to do– create a three-headed kitten to raise with her best friend Tallulah on the space station they call home. It seems like the perfect plan, at least, until they get in trouble... and then the kitten goes missing... and then things start to go wrong on the space station. Now it's up to these two clever girls to save their home before things go completely haywire!

A fun, fast-paced graphic novel with a great twist! Ages 8+.

(Be sure to check out the sequel, Sanity and Tallulah: Field Trip!)


They Both Die at the End By Adam Silvera Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062457806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 18th, 2018

Now, it's no spoiler to say that this one has a pretty tragic ending– it says so on the cover. But when teens Rufus and Matteo start the day knowing it'll be their last one on Earth, it becomes a story about how you spend the time you have, and that even with 24 hours left, two people can find friendship and love, can have new experiences, and can leave the world a little better than they found it.

I listened to this one as an audiobook (which you can find through our partner, libro.fm!) and the ending brought tears to my eyes! Adam Silvera is a master of emotional storytelling and YA romance, and this book showcases him in his prime. Ages 14+.