New and Best Books in Middle Grade Fiction

Big Tree By Brian Selznick, Brian Selznick (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Brian Selznick, Brian Selznick (Illustrator)
$32.99
ISBN: 9781338180633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Scholastic Press - April 4th, 2023

The fate of all life on Earth may depend on the bravery of two little seeds in this epic adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling creator and Caldecott Medalist of The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

“The tale of the natural world is the greatest story we have to tell, and Brian delivers a brilliant chapter of that tale throughout the pages of Big Tree


Camp Sylvania By Julie Murphy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063114029
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 6th, 2023

From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’, comes a hilarious and creepy middle grade summer camp story that takes a bite out of fat camp and diet culture. Perfect for fans of Spooky Stories and Starfish.


Creatures of the In Between By Cindy Lin Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063064799
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - April 11th, 2023

Princess Mononoke meets How to Train Your Dragon in this magical middle grade adventure from Cindy Lin, author of The Twelve, featuring a blend of East and Southeast Asian folklore and mythical creatures, and starring a boy with a hero’s destiny.

Prince Jin is running out of time.


Rebel Undercover (The Forgotten Five, Book 3) By Lisa McMann Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593615805
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2023

X-Men meets Spy Kids in the third installment of The Forgotten Five middle-grade fantasy/adventure series by the New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanteds.


The Storyteller By Brandon Hobson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338797268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Scholastic Press - May 2nd, 2023

From National Book Award finalist Brandon Hobson, a kaleidoscopic middle-grade adventure that mixes the anxieties, friendships, and wonders of a Cherokee boy's life with Cherokee history and lore.

Ziggy has ANXIETY. Partly this is because of the way his mind works, and how overwhelmed he can get when other people (especially his classmate Alice) are in the room.


The Guardian Test (Legends of Lotus Island #1) By Christina Soontornvat, Kevin Hong (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Christina Soontornvat, Kevin Hong (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338759150
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Scholastic Press - March 7th, 2023

From three-time Newbery honor recipient Christina Soontornvat comes a compelling new young middle grade fantasy series for readers who love stories about animals, magic, and kids like them embracing their power to change the world.

Young Plum is shocked to discover that she’s been accepted to the Guardian Academy on Lotus Island, an elite school where kids learn how to transform in


A Work in Progress By Jarrett Lerner, Jarrett Lerner (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jarrett Lerner, Jarrett Lerner (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665905152
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Aladdin - May 2nd, 2023

A young boy struggles with body image in this poignant and “perceptive” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) middle grade journey to self-acceptance told through prose, verse, and illustration.

Will is the only round kid in a school full of thin ones.


Time to Roll (Roll with It) By Jamie Sumner Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665918596
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 4th, 2023

In the eagerly anticipated sequel to Jamie Sumner’s acclaimed and beloved middle grade novel Roll with It, Ellie finds her own way to shine.

Ellie is so not the pageant type. They’re Coralee’s thing, and Ellie is happy to let her talented friend shine in the spotlight.


The Many Assassinations of Samir, the Seller of Dreams: Newbery Honor Award Winner By Daniel Nayeri, Daniel Miyares (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Daniel Nayeri, Daniel Miyares (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781646143030
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Levine Querido - March 7th, 2023

NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER

BEST OF THE YEAR:
NPR - Booklist - School Library Journal - Chicago Public Library - Evanston Public Library - Kirkus - Wall Street Journal


The Silk Road comes to life in this picaresque epic adventure with twists and turns and a wonderful surprise ending from Printz Medalist Daniel Nayeri

This is t


When Clouds Touch Us By Thanhhà Lai Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063047006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - May 9th, 2023

A Boston GlobeHorn Book Award finalist!

Inspired by the author’s own childhood, this stunning novel in verse, the sequel to the award-winning #1 bestseller Inside Out and Back Again, picks up two years after Hà and her family arrive in Alabama as refugees from the Việt Nam War.


One True Wish By Lauren Kate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665910569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 25th, 2023

A dash of fairy magic brightens this heartfelt and bittersweet middle grade novel about three friends confronting their deepest wishes from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Kate.

Phoebe is a wish-granting fairy who doesn’t believe in children. Birdie, Gem, and Van are sixth graders who don’t believe in fairies.


Elf Dog and Owl Head By M. T. Anderson, Junyi Wu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By M. T. Anderson, Junyi Wu (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536222814
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Candlewick - April 11th, 2023

A Newbery Honor Book

"A hilarious, heartfelt triumph."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

From the singular imagination of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson comes a magical adventure about a boy and his dog—or a dog and her boy—and a forest of wonders hidden in plain sight.


The One and Only Ruby By Katherine Applegate Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063080089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: HarperCollins - May 2nd, 2023

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller!

From beloved powerhouse author Katherine Applegate comes The One and Only Ruby, starring the adorable baby elephant from the Newbery Medal-winning modern classic The One and Only Ivan and its bestselling sequel, The One and Only Bob.


The Swifts: A Dictionary of Scoundrels By Beth Lincoln, Claire Powell (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Beth Lincoln, Claire Powell (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593533239
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - February 7th, 2023

Instant New York Times Bestseller!

Knives Out feel by way of Lemony Snicket…This archly told, never muddled debut whodunit reveals a roster of distinct characters, a labyrinthine setting and plot, and a mystery that is as clever as its heroine.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review


Rick Riordan Presents: Winston Chu vs. the Whimsies By Stacey Lee Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368074803
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - February 7th, 2023

The Unforgettable Logan Foster and the Shadow of Doubt By Shawn Peters Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063047723
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: HarperCollins - January 3rd, 2023

Sometimes, it’s not so easy to tell the differences between good guys and the bad ones. Filled with superheroes, supervillains, and epic showdowns, The Unforgettable Logan Foster and the Shadow of Doubt is the thrilling second book in the acclaimed Logan Foster series from super-author Shawn Peters.


On Air with Zoe Washington By Janae Marks Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063212312
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 14th, 2023

* An instant New York Times bestseller *

An empowering and big-hearted sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed From the Desk of Zoe Washington by Janae Marks!


Hands By Torrey Maldonado Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593323793
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 24th, 2023

"Gorgeous and gripping, Hands is a poetic page-turner. You might just finish it in one sitting. Torrey Maldonado understands the kids he writes for at the deepest level.” —Adam Gidwitz, Newbery Honor–winning author of The Inquisitor’s Tale


Sisters of the Lost Marsh By Lucy Strange Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338686463
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Chicken House - January 3rd, 2023

Awarded the 2024 Odyssey Honor!

From award winning author Lucy Strange comes a thrilling story of six sisters who must fight against circumstance and fate, gorgeously told and steeped in history and legend.

On a poor farm surrounded by marshlands, six sisters -- Grace, Willa, Freya, and triplets Deedee, Darcy, and Dolly -- live in fear of their father and


The Puttermans Are in the House By Jacquetta Nammar Feldman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063034433
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: HarperCollins - January 17th, 2023

A heartfelt and hopeful middle grade novel from Jacquetta Nammar Feldman, author of the Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Wishing Upon the Same Stars, about family, joy, and growing up in the aftermath of a natural disaster.


Trashed! By Martha Freeman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665905350
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - January 17th, 2023

From Edgar Award–nominated author Martha Freeman comes a “delightful” (Kirkus Reviews) middle grade mystery following a young boy working at his family’s secondhand store that is a steal-your-heart story about family and friendship.

Arthur Popper helps out in his family’s Boulder, Colorado, junk store, Universal Trash, a place so full of cool stuf