Oceania - Hawaii, Samoa, Maori, and more

Ho'onani: Hula Warrior By Heather Gale, Mika Song (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Heather Gale, Mika Song (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735264496
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tundra Books - October 1st, 2019

An empowering celebration of identity, acceptance and Hawaiian culture based on the true story of a young girl in Hawaiʻi who dreams of leading the boys-only hula troupe at her school.

Ho'onani feels in-between. She doesn't see herself as wahine (girl) OR kane (boy). She's happy to be in the middle. But not everyone sees it that way.


Surfer of the Century: The Life of Duke Kahanamoku By Ellie Crowe, Richard Waldrep (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ellie Crowe, Richard Waldrep (Illustrator)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781600604614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Lee & Low Books - June 15th, 2013

Texas Bluebonnet Masterlist, Texas Library Association (TLA)
Carter G. Woodson Award, National Council for the Social Studies
Distinguished Children's Biography List, Cleveland Public Library
Editor's Favorites, The Bloomsbury Review
Kiriyama Prize, Notable Children's Books, Pacific Rim Voices
Librarian's Choices, Texas Woman's University


Duke Kahanamoku: Ready-to-Read Level 3 (You Should Meet) By Laurie Calkhoven, Stevie Lewis (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Laurie Calkhoven, Stevie Lewis (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781481497008
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon Spotlight - May 16th, 2017

Get to know the father of modern surfing in this fascinating, nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read, part of a new series of biographies about people “you should meet.”

Meet Duke Kahanamoku, three-time Olympic gold medalist and the father of modern surfing. Duke gained international fame for participating in four Olympics and won five medals in total.


Ohana Means Family By Ilima Loomis, Kenard Pak (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ilima Loomis, Kenard Pak (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823443260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Neal Porter Books - February 4th, 2020

Join the family, or ohana, as they farm taro for poi to prepare for a traditional luau celebration with a poetic text in the style of The House That Jack Built.
 
An American Library Association Notable Children’s Book


Dumpling Soup By Jama Kim Rattigan, Lillian Hsu-Flanders (Illustrator) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316730471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 1998

The food and family love are equally warm in this gorgeously illustrated and delicious tale that celebrates mixed families.

Marisa gets to help make dumplings this year to celebrate the New Year. But she worries if anyone will eat her funny-looking dumplings. Set in the Hawaiian islands, this story celebrates the joyful mix of food, customs, and languages from many cultures.


A is for Aloha: A Hawai'i Alphabet (Discover America State by State) By U'Ilani Goldsberry, Tammy Yee (Illustrator) Cover Image
By U'Ilani Goldsberry, Tammy Yee (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781585361465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - June 1st, 2005

Completing our acclaimed Discover America State by State series is A is for Aloha: AHawaii Alphabet. The landscape of Hawaii is as exotic as its history and people. Written and illustrated by native Hawaiians, U'ilani Goldsberry and Tammy Yee, Ais for Aloha is a lovingly created introduction to one of the most-visited places on Earth.


Where Is the Great Barrier Reef? (Where Is?) By Nico Medina, Who HQ, John Hinderliter (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nico Medina, Who HQ, John Hinderliter (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448486994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 6th, 2016

In this Where Is? title, kids can explore the Great Barrier Reef—big enough to be seen from space but made up of billions of tiny living organisms.


Evonne Goolagong (Little People, BIG DREAMS #36) By Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara, Lisa Koesterke (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780711245860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Evonne Goolagong, the inspiring indigenous Australian tennis player.

Evonne grew up on a hot, dusty farm in Australia.


Fly on the Wall By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250314123
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Square Fish - May 11th, 2021

In Fly on the Wall, a moving and hilarious diary-style illustrated novel from the award-winning author of Pie in the Sky, a twelve-year-old boy goes on a (forbidden) solo adventure halfway around the world to prove his independence to his overprotective family.


Pie in the Sky By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250314109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - May 14th, 2019

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!
An NPR Best Book of the Year!