Pre Order the Most Anticipated Books of 2021

 Pre Order the most anticipated titles of 2021. Once they are released you can pick them up at the store or have them shipped directly to you or a loved one. Choosing to order your books from small independent bookstores like Children's Book World over giant corporate behemoths enriches and empowers your community. 
Pre-Order Saints & Sinners Festival Books! – Tubby & Coo's Mid-City Book  Shop
The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534431485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Aladdin - July 6th, 2021

“A satisfying, brilliant sequel, solidifying Steinkellner’s reputation as a graphic novelist to watch.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results


Jukebox Cover Image
By Nidhi Chanani, Nidhi Chanani (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250156372
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: First Second - June 22nd, 2021

Grab some coins for the jukebox, and get ready for a colorful, time-traveling, musical tale about family and courage.

A mysterious jukebox, old vinyl records, and cryptic notes on music history, are Shaheen's only clues to her father's abrupt disappearance. She looks to her cousin, Tannaz, who seems just as perplexed, before they both turn to the jukebox which starts…glowing?


Blackout Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063088092
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 22nd, 2021

Six critically acclaimed, bestselling, and award-winning authors bring the glowing warmth and electricity of Black teens in love to this charming, hilarious, and heartwarming novel that shines a bright light through the dark.

A summer heatwave blankets New York City in darkness. But as the city is thrown into confusion, a different kind of electricity sparks…


Long Distance Cover Image
By Whitney Gardner, Whitney Gardner (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534455658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 29th, 2021

From the creator of Fake Blood comes another exceptionally charming middle grade graphic novel about friendships both near and far, far away.

Vega’s summer vacation is not going well.

When her parents decide it’s time to pack up and leave her hometown of Portland, Oregon, behind for boring Seattle, Washington, Vega is more than upset—she’s downr


Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

A graphic novel adaptation of the beloved, bestselling Newbery Honor-winning novel.


Karen's Kittycat Club (Baby-sitters Little Sister Graphic Novel #4) (Adapted edition) (Baby-Sitters Little Sister Graphix #4) Cover Image
By Ann M. Martin, Katy Farina (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781338356212
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Graphix - July 20th, 2021

Karen wants to start her own club!

Karen's best friend Hannie just got an adorable new kitten. Their neighbor Amanda has a cat, too, and Karen has grumpy old Boo-Boo. Now that they all have cats, Karen comes up with a great idea. She wants to start a Kittycat Club!

What will the club do? Karen can't baby-sit like her big sister Kristy... but she can cat-sit!


Staff Pick Badge
Me (Moth) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250780362
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Feiwel & Friends - August 17th, 2021

A debut YA novel-in-verse by Amber McBride, Me (Moth) is about a teen girl who is grieving the deaths of her family, and a teen boy who crosses her path.

Moth has lost her family in an accident. Though she lives with her aunt, she feels alone and uprooted.


Witches of Brooklyn: What the Hex?!: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593119303
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Random House Graphic - September 7th, 2021

Effie returns in this spellbinding sequel: a middle-grade graphic novel about found family, friendship, and learning to embrace who you are!

Could there be even MORE witches in Brooklyn?!
 


Staff Pick Badge
Barefoot Dreams of Petra Luna Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728234656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

Wrenching debut about family, loss, and finding the strength to carry on.--Booklist, starred review
Vital and perilous and hopeful.
--Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee


Narwhal's School of Awesomeness (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #6) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780735262546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tundra Books - September 7th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
 
Narwhal and Jelly become the coolest teachers in the world wide waters in the hilarious sixth book of this blockbuster graphic novel series!


The Last Kids on Earth and the Doomsday Race Cover Image
By Max Brallier, Douglas Holgate (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781984835376
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

A Netflix Original series! 

The highly-anticipated seventh book in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling series, with over 7 million copies in print!


Tomatoes for Neela Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593202708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2021

Padma Lakshmi, bestselling author and host of Bravo's Top Chef and Hulu's Taste the Nation, and Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator Juana Martinez-Neal team up in this celebration of food and family.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Nina: A Story of Nina Simone Cover Image
By Traci Todd, Christian Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524737283
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Change Sings: A Children's Anthem Cover Image
By Amanda Gorman, Loren Long (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593203224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 21st, 2021

A lyrical picture book debut from #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long
 
"I can hear change humming
In its loudest, proudest song.
I don't fear change coming,
And so I sing along."
 


The Women of Troy: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385546690
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Doubleday - August 24th, 2021

A daring and timely feminist retelling of The Iliad from the perspective of the women of Troy who endured it—an extraordinary follow up to The Silence of the Girls from the Booker Prize-winning author of The Regeneration Trilogy.
 
"An important, powerful, memorable book."—Emily Wilson, translator of The Odyssey


Widespread Panic: A novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593319345
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Knopf - June 15th, 2021

From the modern master of noir comes a novel based on the real-life Hollywood fixer Freddy Otash, the malevolent monarch of the 1950s L.A. underground, and his Tinseltown tabloid Confidential magazine.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Barakah Beats Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338702064
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - October 19th, 2021

For fans of The First Rule of Punk and Save Me a Seat, Barakah Beats is a sweet, powerful, and joyous novel about a Muslim girl who finds her voice on her own terms...


Pre-Order Now Badge
Call Us What We Carry: Poems Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780593465066
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books - December 7th, 2021

The breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman


Kristy and the Snobs: A Graphic Novel (Baby-sitters Club #10) (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix) Cover Image
By Ann M. Martin, Chan Chau (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338304602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Graphix - September 7th, 2021

A brand-new Baby-sitters Club graphic novel adapted by Eisner-nominated artist Chan Chau!

Kristy's mom got remarried and their family moved to the ritzy neighborhood across town. The other members of The Baby-sitters Club think it's a good opportunity to get some new business, but the kids who live nearby aren't very friendly. They criticize Kristy's clothes and make fun of the BSC.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Dreams from My Father (Adapted for Young Adults): A Story of Race and Inheritance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385738729
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 5th, 2021

Now adapted for young adults—the #1 New York Times bestselling memoir, which Toni Morrison called “quite extraordinary,” offers an intimate look at Barack Obama’s early days. This is a compelling journey tracing the future 44th president's odyssey through family, race, and identity.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Big Shot (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 16) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419749155
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Amulet Books - October 26th, 2021

In Big Shot, book 16 of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney, Greg Heffley and sports just don’t mix.

After a disastrous field day competition at school, Greg decides that when it comes to his athletic career, he’s officially retired.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Daughter of the Deep Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781368077927
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 5th, 2021

New York Times #1 best-selling author Rick Riordan pays homage to Jules Verne in his exciting modern take on 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lincoln Highway: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735222359
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - October 5th, 2021

“[T]ransporting . . . a rollicking cross-country adventure, rife with unforgettable characters, vivid scenery and suspense that will keep readers flying through the pages.” —TIME


Pre-Order Now Badge
Stuntboy, in the Meantime Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Raúl the Third (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534418165
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - November 30th, 2021

From Newbery Medal honoree and #1 New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds comes a hilarious, hopeful, and action-packed middle grade novel about the greatest young superhero you’ve never heard of, filled with illustrations by Raúl the Third!

Portico Reeves’s superpower is making sure all the other superheroes—like his parents and two best friend