South Asia - India, Pakistan, and more

Staff Pick Badge
Laxmi's Mooch Cover Image
By Shelly Anand, Nabi H. Ali (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Kokila - March 2nd, 2021

A joyful, body-positive picture book about a young Indian American girl's journey to accept her body hair and celebrate her heritage after being teased about her mustache.


How to Find What You're Not Looking For Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555032
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Kokila - September 14th, 2021

New historical fiction from a Newbery Honor–winning author about how middle schooler Ariel Goldberg's life changes when her big sister elopes following the 1967 Loving v. Virginia decision, and she's forced to grapple with both her family's prejudice and the antisemitism she experiences, as she defines her own beliefs.


Born Behind Bars Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593112472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 7th, 2021

“Venkatraman has never met a heavy theme she did not like....Borrowing elements of fable, it's told with a recurring sense of awe by a boy whom the world, for most of his life, has existed only in stories.”—New York Times Book Review


Where Three Oceans Meet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419741296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

 A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”
    
Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India.


Fauja Singh Keeps Going: The True Story of the Oldest Person to Ever Run a Marathon Cover Image
By Simran Jeet Singh, Baljinder Kaur (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Kokila - August 25th, 2020

The true story of Fauja Singh, who broke world records to become the first one hundred-year-old to run a marathon, shares valuable lessons on the source of his grit, determination to overcome obstacles, and commitment to positive representation of the Sikh community.

Every step forward is a victory.


Tomatoes for Neela Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593202708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2021

Padma Lakshmi, bestselling author and host of Bravo's Top Chef and Hulu's Taste the Nation, and Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator Juana Martinez-Neal team up in this celebration of food and family.
 


Indian Children's Favorite Stories: Fables, Myths and Fairy Tales Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780804850162
Availability: Not in stock but may be ordered. Subject to Publisher Availability.
Published: Tuttle Publishing - April 14th, 2020

This colorfully illustrated multicultural children's book presents Indian fairy tales and other folk stories that the whole family will enjoy

Indian Children's Favorite Stories is a charming selection of eight Indian tales that provide an insight into traditional Indian culture. They make perfect new additions for story time or bedtime reading.


The Night Diary Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780735228528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Puffin Books - April 23rd, 2019

A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

"A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."


Who Was Gandhi? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Dana Meachen Rau, Who HQ, Jerry Hoare (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448482354
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Penguin Workshop - November 13th, 2014

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi was born in 1869 in British-occupied India. Though he studied law in London and spent his early adulthood in South Africa, he remained devoted to his homeland and spent the later part of his life working to make India an independent nation.


Mahatma Gandhi (Little People, BIG DREAMS #25) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781786037879
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - April 30th, 2019

New in the Little People, Big Dreams series, discover the life of Mohandas Gandhi, the father of India, in this true story of his life. As a young teenager in India, Gandhi led a rebellious life and went against his parents' values. But as a young man, he started to form beliefs of his own that harked back to the Hindu principles of his childhood.


Desert Girl, Monsoon Boy Cover Image
By Tara Dairman, Archana Sreenivasan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518068
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2020

Extreme weather affects two children's lives in very different ways and shows how the power of nature can bring us together.

One girl. One boy. Their lives couldn't be more different.

While she turns her shoulder to sandstorms and blistering winds, he cuffs his pants when heavy rains begin to fall.


Pashmina Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626720879
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: First Second - October 3rd, 2017

A Junior Library Guild Selection 2017
Amazon Top Twenty Children’s Book of the Year 2017
Amazon Best Book of the month December 2017
Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2017
Texas Maverick Graphic Novel 2017
Northern California Indie Bookseller Association Long-List Title


Rapunzel (Once Upon a World) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481490726
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little Simon - March 21st, 2017

The classic story of Rapunzel gets a fresh twist in this vibrant Indian spin on the beloved fairy tale!

Once upon a time, there was a girl with long, long hair, who lived in a tall, tall tower...

The classic tale of Rapunzel gets a fresh twist in this third book of a brand-new board book series, Once Upon a World.


Ahimsa Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9781620143568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Tu Books - October 2nd, 2017

New Visions Award winner
Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
Amelia Bloomer Project--Feminist Task Force


Where Is the Taj Mahal? (Where Is?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780399542145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Penguin Workshop - January 24th, 2017

Learn about the love story behind the creation of one of the most beautiful and famous buildings in the world.


Amina's Voice Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481492072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

A Washington Post Best Children’s Book of 2017

“For inspiring empathy in young readers, you can’t get better than this book.” —R. J.


Staff Pick Badge
The Bridge Home Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524738136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - April 14th, 2020

"Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma infuses her story with hope and bravery that will inspire readers."--Aisha Saeed, author of the New York Times Bestseller Amal Unbound


More to the Story Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481492102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

From the critically acclaimed author of Amina’s Voice comes a new story inspired by Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic, Little Women, featuring four sisters from a modern American Muslim family living in Georgia.

When Jameela Mirza is picked to be feature editor of her middle school newspaper, she’s one step closer to being an award-winning journalist


Seven Golden Rings: A Tale of Music and Math Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781885008978
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Lee & Low Books - October 27th, 2020

Book Link's Lasting Connection 2020 Title

In this clever, convivial picture book, an Indian boy untangles a mathematical conundrum to win a place at the Rajah's court.


Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781368023566
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - March 19th, 2019

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this fantasy adventure by New York Times best-selling author, Roshani Chokshi, inspired by the great epics she grew up on.
Named one of 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time by Time magazine!


Aru Shah and the Song of Death (A Pandava Novel Book 2) (Pandava Series #2) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368023559
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - April 7th, 2020

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents best-selling author Roshani Chokshi and her sequel to Aru Shah and the End of Time.


Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes (A Pandava Novel Book 3) (Pandava Series #3) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368023573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - April 6th, 2021

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the third book in the New York Times best-selling Pandava series by Roshani Chokshi.


Archie Celebrates Diwali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781623541194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Charlesbridge - September 14th, 2021

It's Archie's favorite holiday—Diwali. And this year she gets to share it with her friends and introduce them to the festival of lights!


The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338185713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Scholastic Press - January 29th, 2019

From New York Times bestselling author comes a world packed with action and adventure, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Soman Chainani.

MEET KIRANMALA:INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER(Only she doesn't know it yet.)On the morning of her 12th birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey...until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling


How To Wear A Sari Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328635204
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Versify - June 22nd, 2021

Sparkling with voice and charm, this picture book about a fashionable kid out to prove she’s not as small as everyone thinks is perfect for kids eager to grow up, and for those who love to play dress-up.

Being a little kid isn’t always fun and games.


Staff Pick Badge
American as Paneer Pie Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534439399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

“[A] charming novel [that] explores the complexity of immigration and identity.” —Teen Vogue

An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only


I Am Brown Cover Image
By Ashok Banker, Sandhya Prabhat (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781911373940
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Lantana Publishing - March 3rd, 2020

Brown-skinned children around the world laugh, love and play together in this infectiously joyful book.

I am brown. I am beautiful. I am perfect. I designed this computer. I ran this race. I won this prize. I wrote this book. A joyful celebration of the skin you're in--of being brown, of being amazing, of being you.