Children's Book World and TeachAAPI present, The Door Is Open: Stories of Celebration and Community with 4 Desi Voices. Award-winning authors Hena Khan, Veera Hiranandani, Supriya Kelkar, and Maulik Pancholy in virtual conversation about their collaboration for their new acclaimed anthology, The Door Is Open: Stories of Celebration and Community by 11 Desi Voices.

Order The Door Is Open and some of our other favorite middle grade books from these authors, for store pickup or shipping anywhere in the U.S.

About Hena Khan: Hena Khan is a Pakistani American writer. She is the author of the middle grade novels Amina's VoiceAmina's SongMore to the StoryDrawing Deena, and the Zara's Rules series and picture books Golden Domes and Silver LanternsUnder My Hijab, and It's Ramadan, Curious George, among others. Hena lives in her hometown of Rockville, Maryland, with her family. You can learn more about Hena and her books by visiting her website at HenaKhan.com or connecting with her @HenaKhanBooks.
 
About Veera Hirananandani: Veera Hiranandani, author of the Newbery Honor-winning The Night Diary, earned her MFA in creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College. She is the author of The Whole Story of Half a Girl, a Sydney Taylor Notable Book and a South Asia Book Award finalist, and How to Find What You're Not Looking For, winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award and the New York Historical Society Children's History Book Prize. A former editor at Simon & Schuster, she now teaches in the Writing for Children and Young Adults MFA Program at The Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her newest book is Amil and the After.
 
About Supriya Kelkar: Born and raised in the Midwest, Supriya Kelkar learned Hindi as a child by watching three Hindi movies a week. She is a screenwriter who has worked on the writing teams for several Hindi films and one Hollywood feature. Supriya's books include AhimsaThe Many Colors of Harpreet SinghAmerican as Paneer Pie, and The Cobra's Song, among others. Visit her online at SupriyaKelkar.com.
 
About Maulik Pancholy: Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 RockWhitney), animated favorites (Phineas and FerbSanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage, and films. He served on President Barack Obama's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and he is the cofounder of the anti-bullying campaign Act to Change. Maulik lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his husband, Ryan, and his dog, T-Rex. The Best at It is his debut novel followed by his second novel, Nikhil Out Loud.
 
TeachAAPI is a group of LA-based parents who are building a community to foster awareness and education for AAPI-related cultural and racial issues within our schools.
 
The Door Is Open: Stories of Celebration and Community by 11 Desi Voices By Hena Khan (Editor), Veera Hiranandani, Supriya Kelkar, Maulik Pancholy, Simran Jeet Singh, Aisha Saeed, Reem Faruqi, Rajani LaRocca, Naheed Hasnat, Sayantani DasGupta, Mitali Perkins Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316450638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 23rd, 2024

Discover stories of fear, triumph, and spectacular celebration in this warm-hearted novel of interconnected stories that celebrates the diversity of South Asian American experiences in a local community center.

Discover stories of fear, triumph, and spectacular celebration in the fictional town of Maple Grove, New Jersey, where the local kids gather at the community center to


Drawing Deena By Hena Khan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534459915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - February 6th, 2024

From the award-winning author of Amina’s Voice and Amina’s Song comes a tenderhearted middle grade novel about a young Pakistani American artist determined to manage her anxiety and forge her own creative path.


Amina's Voice By Hena Khan Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481492072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - May 1st, 2018

A Washington Post Best Children’s Book of 2017

“For inspiring empathy in young readers, you can’t get better than this book.” —R. J.


Amil and the After By Veera Hiranandani Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555063
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Kokila - January 23rd, 2024

A hopeful and heartwarming story about finding joy after tragedy, Amil and the After is a companion to the beloved and award-winning Newbery Honor novel The Night Diary, by acclaimed author Veera Hiranandani

At the turn of the new year in 1948, Amil and his family are trying to make a home in India, now independent of British rule.


The Night Diary By Veera Hiranandani Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780735228528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Kokila - April 23rd, 2019

A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

"A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."


The Cobra's Song By Supriya Kelkar Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781665911894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2024

From the author of American as Paneer Pie comes an “absorbing” (Kirkus Reviews) middle grade adventure steeped in Indian folklore following a girl who learns how to find her voice and face her fears, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and Amina’s Song.

Ten-year-old Geetanjali doesn’t mind singing, but she knows she’ll never be as good as h


And Yet You Shine: The Kohinoor Diamond, Colonization, and Resistance By Supriya Kelkar, Supriya Kelkar (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Supriya Kelkar, Supriya Kelkar (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536228298
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Candlewick - April 2nd, 2024

The story of one of the world’s most famous diamonds—stolen from South Asia during colonization and now among the crown jewels in London—is a call to action for readers to decolonize and hold their heads high.


Staff Pick Badge
American as Paneer Pie By Supriya Kelkar Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534439399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

“[A] charming novel [that] explores the complexity of immigration and identity.” —Teen Vogue

An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only


Nikhil Out Loud By Maulik Pancholy Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780063091931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 10th, 2023

Lambda Literary Award Winner for LGBTQ+ Middle Grade


The Best at It By Maulik Pancholy Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062866424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now or Recently
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 6th, 2020

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.